Resolved Entire chunk has simply disappeared.

Discussion in 'Help Archive' started by KhalDrogo, Feb 16, 2024.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KhalDrogo
    Offline

    KhalDrogo Experienced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,499
    IGN:
    Drogo
    Today, I found that an entire chunk of my island has simply disappeared.
    I'm hoping that this can be restored please.
    upload_2024-2-17_9-18-14.png
     
  2. Dexuby
    Offline

    Dexuby Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2021
    Messages:
    380
    IGN:
    Dexuby
    When exactly did this happen? What are the chunk coordinates?
     
  3. KhalDrogo
    Offline

    KhalDrogo Experienced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,499
    IGN:
    Drogo
    Some time in the last 10 hours. I was AFK at the time.
    I've messaged you the coords.
     
  4. Dexuby
    Offline

    Dexuby Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2021
    Messages:
    380
    IGN:
    Dexuby
    I found the log entry indicating that your chunk data got wiped. If you want we can copy one of the adjacent chunks into its place so you don't have to re-build everything.
     
  5. KhalDrogo
    Offline

    KhalDrogo Experienced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,499
    IGN:
    Drogo
    That would be great Dex. Then I'd only have to move the light and water sources and not the 6400 dirt blocks.
    The chunk to the east or west would be ideal as then I don’t have to move all the crops either.

    I'll just place all my rares, diamond blocks etc there before you copy it over. :D
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2024
  6. Dexuby
    Offline

    Dexuby Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2021
    Messages:
    380
    IGN:
    Dexuby
    Kerahna Should be able to handle this.
     
  7. KhalDrogo
    Offline

    KhalDrogo Experienced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,499
    IGN:
    Drogo
    Thanks Dexuby, and Thanks in advance Kerahna.
    Fortunately it was at the far edge of my farm and there is nothing else in the chunks East or West that would get copied across.
     
  8. Kerahna
    Offline

    Kerahna Administrator Administrator Forums Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    8,128
    IGN:
    Kerahna
    If you can send the coordinates I’ll get this done next time I’m in game. It’s a long weekend in Canada so we are out of town until Monday night.
     
  9. KhalDrogo
    Offline

    KhalDrogo Experienced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,499
    IGN:
    Drogo
    Coordinates have been messaged to you.
    Thanks.
     
  10. KhalDrogo
    Offline

    KhalDrogo Experienced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,499
    IGN:
    Drogo
    Prime suspect responsible for the missing chunk! upload_2024-2-19_20-18-58.png

    Criminals always return to the scene of the crime!
     
  11. offline
    Offline

    offline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    184
    New fear unlocked

    Why did you decide against the checkerboard pattern? Is this one more or equal efficient?
     
  12. KhalDrogo
    Offline

    KhalDrogo Experienced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,499
    IGN:
    Drogo
    Because this farm is wheat.
    Checkerboard layout is for Melkin.
     
  13. offline
    Offline

    offline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    184
    why is there one block dirt inbetween each row of wheat? Still in progress or more efficient?
     
  14. KhalDrogo
    Offline

    KhalDrogo Experienced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,499
    IGN:
    Drogo
    Wheat is best grown in rows.
     
  15. offline
    Offline

    offline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    184
    How many layers would I need then?
     
  16. KhalDrogo
    Offline

    KhalDrogo Experienced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,499
    IGN:
    Drogo
    about 25.
     
  17. offline
    Offline

    offline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    184
    I have 25 layers but fully planted. Am I earning less or just wasting crops?
     
  18. KhalDrogo
    Offline

    KhalDrogo Experienced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,499
    IGN:
    Drogo
    If google is to be believed, you are making less and wasting crops.
    That and the extra crops contribute to greater strain on the server.

    but this is off topic now.
     
  19. KhalDrogo
    Offline

    KhalDrogo Experienced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,499
    IGN:
    Drogo
    I'm hoping there might be someone else that might be able to assist with this as I'm sure Kera is very busy.

    Kera has replaced the missing chunk but the chunk that was copied had a cropper in it which turned into an ordinary hopper so was not collecting crops. I removed that hopper and tried to place a new cropper but the chunk thinks it already has a cropper so it won't let me place it.

    For some reason, this happened to 2 other chunks as well so I now have 3 chunks that are not producing because I cannot place croppers in those chunks.

    upload_2024-2-22_22-6-45.png

    This sounds very much like a Dex problem but as he is not here I'm hoping the following might work to solve the issue.

    If I remove the cropper from a good chunk, then a mod could copy that chunk into the 3 bugged chunks, after which I'm hoping that I can place croppers in them.
     
  20. ~Sky~
    Offline

    ~Sky~ Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    205
    IGN:
    Skylandia
    I had a quick look at some (likely extremely outdated) crophopper code on github, and it looks like you can just place a hopper where the old crophopper used to be and break it again to remove the database entry of the old crophopper.
    Specifically lines 75 and forward here: CropHopper/src/me/afroninja/events/Hopper.java at master · afroNinja420/CropHopper · GitHub
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page